Pushin’ Through the Pain

So, I wasn’t intending to inflict pain upon myself, but it inevitably happens (or shall I say “happened”) when you try and push yourself when you aren’t exactly in the best of shape.  About a month ago I started getting serious about working out again!  The three months previous, I still hadn’t recovered 100% from and “unknown” illness,  was super busy, and I just didn’t commit to exercising.  Now, I have a dualthon to train for!  It will be a 3.1 mile run, followed by an 18 mile bike, followed by another 3.1 mile run, and I can’t do this “cold turkey” or I will be the turkey.  Sadly, I continue to gain weight, due to my poor eating habits, which is seriously unhealthy and is frankly dangerous, hence my need for exercise.  Also, there are risks in exercising and training, especially when running and/or biking where there is traffic and/or you are in unfamiliar territory, which I have proven to do on many occasions. But I must take the lesser of two evils and keep pushin’ through the pain because I MUST get healthy.

Running on the treadmill hurts.

Getting up in the early morning to run the bridge hurts.

Pushing yourself to surpass your mph average on your bike hurts.

Sit-ups hurt.

Flutterkicks hurt.

It all hurts, but it must be done to get healthy.

Just over three weeks ago, I decided to go “head to head” with a train track, and unfortunately the train track won. Unbeknownst to me, the train track ahead had an “ever so slight curve” that became parallel, not perpendicular to the road.

Are you gettin’ what I’m puttin’ down? 

So, unavoidably, my tiny road tires fell in between the tracks, while all 185 pounds of me, that was traveling approximately 15 miles per hour, was suddenly catapulted through the air only to land and hauntingly slide over the tracks and onward across the pavement. It brings a whole new meaning to the phrase “where the rubber meets the road.”   My elbow hit first, followed by my shoulder and then my knee.  Thankfully there wasn’t a train coming, however, I was truly a “train wreck” after that and the pain was beyond excruciating.

ouch

Believe me when I tell you that road rash  is not something I would wish on my worst enemy.

I know it is probably not “cool” (literally or figuratively) to wear leather from top to bottom while riding a road bike (especially in this Texas heat), but I am strongly considering it.  That fall inflicted the most agonizing pain I have ever experienced.  With that said, I fell in the middle of the ride, some five miles away from home, so my only option was to dust myself off, and push through the pain.

God’s word is so true!!!

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.
For I am the Lord your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior (Isaiah 43:1b-3a)

Yeah, I was in pain.   I’m not sure if it could have really been avoided, since I was unfamiliar with the road, but I fell, and  I was in a great deal of pain.  I wanted to just curl up in a fetal position and call it a night, but I couldn’t do that. I HAD to keep going!  I find myself in situations like this time and time again.  Don’t you?  I fall off my bike, I injure my knee, I say something stupid, I hurt someone I love.  “Why Lord, why,” I lament.  Yet God encourages us through His word to keep on keepin’ on!  While it may be excruciatingly painful for a time, God will, as promised, get us through.  He doesn’t promise that we will be “happy as a lark” our whole life through.  No sirree, that is not true.  Fortunately, He does promise that when we go through those pain-filled times (and they will come), He will come to our rescue in HIS time, because He is our loving, Savior!

Oh, yes, lest I forget, I have had some great “first” experiences while exercising! This is my A.D.D. kickin’ in.  On my last vacation with my family we all went on a “family walk/run.”  This has NEVER happened before.  I mean, we are the family who drives around Walmart for an hour to find the closest and ONLY the closest parking spot. We are the family that entertains ourselves in front of the TV, watching movies while entering into a Coca-Cola and popcorn (dripping with butter) coma.  But not this time.  Every member of my family strapped on his/her running shoes and went for a run or walk!  I was so proud of our family!

Familyreunion 022

 Here is my niece and I on the run!

 She chose this fashionable tutu as her running attire! Isn’t she cute!  I also discovered that she is going to be a world class runner!! She is soooooo fast, and she needs to be my permanent running buddy! I literally got “smoked” by a four year old 🙂 See, she’s keeping the pace!

Familyreunion 076My mom and my youngest niece even joined us on our walk/run!

We celebrated our run by jumping in to the lake – literally!  

Familyreunion 042

Clearly I am the heaviest one of the bunch as I am miles ahead of them in meeting the water.

One more reason to keep pushin’ through the pain!

Notice my niece (the running machine) is having no part of our fun (see above).  

Familyreunion 053

Here is our after shot! It felt so good to jump in that cool lake!

A month ago I also started running “the bridge” with two of my friends!  We don’t have hills in these here parts, so any chance I can get to run “up hill” is great training! I am getting stronger and stronger!

bridge

megan

Finally, my last few bricks (1 mile run, 20-minute bike, 1 mile run) have also shown improvement, so I am encouraged!

Can’t you see the pain in my face from today’s brick!?!?!

IMG_6854

God is Good, All the Time! All the Time, God is Good!

Leave a Reply

