Cruel and Unusual Punishment.

Soooooo, seriously, ladies and gents.  Why on earth do we put ourselves through cruel and usual punishment?  Like for REAL?  This last week was my first serious week of regular exercise.  Of course I should be eating right too, but that is, and always will be my arch nemesis.  I attempt to both, “eat well” and “exercise,” but it is a continuous, exhausting, struggle.  With that said, just seven months ago I had completed training for a dualthon in Austin, and I was running my mile in about 8:44 and was averaging almost 4 1/2 miles in 20 minutes during my brick.  For those of you not in the know, a brick is an essential part of triathlon and dualthon training which, according to beginnnertriathlete.com, “refers to training on two disciplines during the same workout, one after the other, with minimal or no interruption in between, just as you would do in a race.” The brick I did today was one mile run, followed by a 20-minute bike followed by yet another mile.  The last time I did a brick was in January.

Fast forward to August of 2014, I have gained approximately six pounds in that time, and due to illness have been refraining from exercise, until this week. Today proved it. The excruciating pain in my lungs and my legs this afternoon was indeed, cruel and unusual punishment.  Had I JUST stayed the course and continued to exercise regularly and eat well, I would have probably lost about ten pounds, would be rockin’ a 8 1/2 minute mile, and my lungs would not have felt as if they were the size of a dried up prune.  But NOOOOOOOOoooooooooo!  A 10:14 mile run, 4.1 mile bike, and 10:37 mile run. I just can’t keep it together.  My body hurt so badly, I literally thought I was having a heart attack.

So, now, I find myself training for two dualthons, one in October and another in December and I am back to where I started?  It frustrates me, beyond measure, that I do this to myself.   “So why do you pay money to put yourself through such strenuous exercise,” you might pose?  “Well, because racing seems to be the only approach that keeps me committed to exercising regularly.”  If I miss a day, or number of days or God-forbid, a week of exercise (when training for a race), I lament, “Kristy, for Pete’s sake, you paid money for this upcoming race.  Are you just going to throw it away?” Then, the thought of throwing money in the trash races through my mind, and I get off my derriere to workout.   Regretfully, if I am completely honest, I battle with self-worth, and simply declaring, “I’m worth it,” doesn’t push me enough.  Maybe you can identify?

self

As frustrating as today was, I am determined to stay the course and compete in both races, lose ten pounds (or shall I say, “get rid of ten pounds,” because, by golly, I DO NOT want those ten pounds to find me again) and get healthy!  Why don’t you set a goal for yourself too?

On a completely separate note (this is my ADD kicking in), today I had the blessing of attending a Women’s Ministry event!  Amazing author, and speaker, Donna Pyle, was our guest! You neeeeeeeed to sit at her feet and soak in her words because Jesus is there!

“Perhaps you’re experiencing a detour through a spiritual desert right now…Keep walking.  We all experience desert seasons.  Maybe you’re right in the middle of one of those seasons, or you have just emerged from one. Perhaps you see the dry, crackled ground ahead.  Are you ready to give up?  If that describes you, take heart. Jesus offers something better.  He shows you the path to streams of living water that will quench your soul’s thirst.  He cannot bear watching you shrivel up without hope.”  (Donna Pyle, Quenched, 2014)

Indeed my body is out of shape and in need of an overhaul, as I expressed above, but heaven forbid we forget our souls?  Certainly, I was in need of water during my brick today. According to my doctor, I drink more water than any person he has ever seen (at least I can say I’ve finally won an award – LOL), but I am achingly in need of  “living water” that only our Savior can give.  Maybe you find yourself suffering in your relationship with God and/or simply need to be fed spiritually?  Dive into God’s Word, the Bible.  And if that is just too overwhelming for you right now, I would  suggest you check out Donna Pyle’s latest book, Quenched: Christ’s Living Water for a Thirsty Soul, and/or any of her amazing Bible studies from her website: http://www.artesianministries.org/ 

Blessed be the journey!

Leave a Reply

