No CARDIO = No Party-YO :(

Due to my super busy schedule, at work, I have not made the effort to do my regular cardio workouts (ie: biking and running). In fact, I cannot tell you the last time I actually went for a run. On second thought, yes I can.  It was the Biggest Loser 5K. However, that was sadly, in MAY! I mean, I should be shouting, “MAYDAY, MAYDAY, MAYDAY!”  Yikes! That is insane! After all of the hard work I put in to compete in the dualthon in December, and completing the Standard Process 21-Day Cleanse in April, I am back up to 184 pounds and returning to my “comfortable,” old eating habits.

 IMG_2508

I HATE IT!

 It makes me sad, and frustrated, and makes me long to be that girl that can just eat anything she wants, but doesn’t gain a single pound. Unfortunately, that is not who God made me to be, and I have to accept that.

Tonight, I had to nip it in the bud! After getting home from work at 9:20pm, I simply put on my workout sneakers, changed into my workout clothes (for I am not a woman who can just wear “whatever” when I work out. Believe me, it would not be a pretty sight, and I would probably score a couple black eyes) and made no excuses. I turned on the treadmill and walked, with a 4 incline, for one hour.  Side note: over a month ago, I canceled my gym membership and was basically gifted a friend’s treadmill. It was a minimal cost for the greatness of this machine, but as is the case in most homes, it was starting to collect some dust and some dirty clothes.

Fortunately, tonight I got her workin’ again!

IMG_2507

After my workout I felt unbelievably energized!!!  

Oh my goodness have I missed cardio!  In fact I learned a hard lesson: “No cardio equals no party, YO!” I’m not kidding.  I have missed my cardio workouts. I miss my bike. I miss running with my running buddy.  I know that life happens, and work happens, and often there are times when I just can’t do it, but I have got to find a way to stop setting my workouts aside and reaching for food during busy, stressful times.  I am not in the partying mood right now. I am sad because I sabotage myself.  I move forward and then at the first onset of stress, I move ten miles in the other direction.  It is pitiful really, and it is something I have GOT to figure out before I have a heart attack or get diabetes.  Nine days ago I joined a free online exercise accountability group.  We do a challenge a day and share our goals,  joys, sorrows and failures with each other on Facebook.  I have sadly missed a few challenges, however, this group reminds me of the importance of having people to exercise with.  You need people to hold you accountable.  These thirty men and women are doing that for me. Yes, I have failed to fulfill the challenges on a few days, but thankfully, I have continued to press on, because I know they want me to.   My personality is one that needs that extra encouragement and push from others. I am not going to apologize for it, but simply accept it, and realize that being surrounded by people who will encourage me to be healthy is essential to my success. It has been proven time and time again throughout my life.

I don’t know where you are at, my friends?  But, I hope that you will join me in kicking those bad, unhealthy habits for good. We all need to stay on track and commit to healthy living!

So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. 

Genesis 1:27

Leave a Reply

