Meet My Blessing!

My deepest apologies for not blogging recently.  I know the importance of consistency, however, if you are a writer at all you understand that one cannot force words on a page. Sometimes they come and sometimes they don’t. Regrettably,  words have not been free-flowing the last few weeks, so I simply stepped back.  Today I finally found the words to introduce you to my “blessing.”  To fully understand the significance of this “blessing,”  I encourage you to read my previous blog, titled A May 11th Blessing! It will help you fill in the blanks.  So without further ado, here she is…

Meet My Blessing!

blessing

Her full name is Blessing Muthoni!  She is four years old, and she lives with her mother and father in the African country of Kenya.  She is in preschool and one of her main duties at home is to take care of the animals.  Her father is a farmer and her mother stays at home to care for Blessing.  Blessing’s birthday is May 11, which is significant. Blessing shares the same day of birth as my first child, (aka: dog) Zacchaeus.

May 2014 569

The whole story is once again found on my previous blog, A May 11th Blessing and unless you read it, none of the following will really make any sense.

So, my moment of truth finally came this past Monday, June 2.  I’m not going to lie.  It took me numerous attempts to muster up the courage to call Compassion International, as I was instructed, to see if Blessing had yet been sponsored.  Two months have passed since I first discovered her packet at the Matthew West Concert.  I spent many, many nights tossing and turning in bed, praying, for this precious child, and on June 2, 2014, I was “blessed” to sponsor her.  I dialed the number, sweating with anticipation.  I asked the daunting question, “Has anyone yet sponsored Blessing Muthoni?”  After a few minutes of silence, the man on the other end of the phone said, “No, ma’am, would you like to sponsor her?”  I hesitated for a moment, and then asked him to send me her information.  I am convinced my indecision was Satan taking one last opportunity to swoop in and keep me from trusting God.  “Would you like for me to add her to your sponsorship?” he inquired.  I remained silent.

Could I afford to pay another $38 a month to support Blessing?

I still refused to answer, confirming that Satan is an incredible deceiver and he was on the move.  I asked the man from Compassion to send me Blessing’s information.   He agreed, and we ended the call.  I NEEDED TO see her face.   I was Krabby McCrankypants all afternoon and evening.  I could have saved myself all this trouble and simply not called at all, however, God was convicting me.  The cost of not doing what God was calling me to do would be too great a burden for me to carry.  Late that evening, I sat at my computer, logged in to my Compassion account and came face to face with my “blessing.”

blessing

My heart raced, just as it had over two months ago.  My heart pounded, just as it had in the wee hours of the morning those many sleepless nights.  My heart throbbed, just as it had those hundreds of times I prayed for guidance from my Heavenly Father.

“Lord, if I am meant to sponsor Blessing, then make a way!”  

He did!

Just a month early, God reminded me, I had canceled my gym membership.  Now, let me digress for a moment and iterate that gym memberships are good.  They are great, except in my case, when you pay for it, but don’t actually use it.  Can you relate? I prefer to train on my own, which I do regularly, so I was paying for something I didn’t use.  My gym membership was $32.46 a month.  Sponsoring Blessing through Compassion is $38.  That is a difference of $5.54, people.

Shall I assert that is a HUGE DIFFERENCE!

The DIFFERENCE is that one four year old little girl in Kenya will now finally have the opportunity to go to school, eat nutritious food, and learn about our Savior, Jesus, because I had the courage to do what I already knew God was calling me to do two months ago, sponsor Blessing!

The difference of $5.54 a month is a risk I am willing to take, to impact Blessing and her family.  After all, in just two short months, she has already had an extraordinary affect on mine.  Meet my Blessing!  She is now one of three children I sponsor through Compassion International.

Won’t you consider making a difference too?

 

 

Leave a Reply

