I Didn’t Want To, But I Did It Anyway…

I Didn’t Want To, But I Did It Anyway…I exercised! 

Today was a very long day. Can anyone relate?  The spring is pure CRAZINESS, yet after working late, I knew I had to go to the track. It was my only exercise option since it was already dark and I no longer have a gym membership.  Thankfully I was able to stay motivated and completed 4 1/4 miles, but it hurt. You see, last Thursday I did a workout with my TCPT group and in my excitement to be there with many of my favorite people,  I pushed myself.  The Warrior Princess showed her true colors again and it felt incredible! Unfortunately, because I haven’t been exercising regularly for over three months, my muscles were quite wrenched!  Today was the first day that I didn’t feel like I was dying.  My muscles have been screaming since Thursday. In fact I had one of those moments Friday night, when while laying in bed, I realized I needed to use the restroom.  However, when attempting to rise, my abdominal muscles stood still.  I couldn’t sit up, and when I tried to push myself up with my arm, I was incapable.  I just laid there like, “yeah, I’m just going to pee the bed.”  In my determination, I did eventually pull myself out of the bed, but I was in a world of hurt.  Fast forward to tonight, even though I didn’t want to,  I did it anyway!  I ran some laps, walked some laps and ran some more, and I did it because my heart simply needed the exercise.  

Maybe you are in the exact predicament? You know you need to get up and exercise, but you just can’t do it. If that is you, I beg you to push just a little bit harder and accept (finally) that you are worth fighting for.  You need to take care of yourself. God’s Word pleads, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.1 Corinthians 6:19-20.  Get out there and do some aerobic exercise and work out your heart. Respect yourself, and be the person God intended you to be.  It will do you a world of good, in body, mind and soul!

 

Since the cleanse my weight has been going up and down and up and down, mostly due to poor eating habits.  Fortunately, I am determined to get back after it, and eat a balanced diet and participate in regular exercise. One of my newest go-to recipes has been Balsalmic Roasted Brussel Sprouts.   I can’t get enough of ’em.  YUMMY!

Image

If you would like to give them a try, you can find the recipe at the following link: 

http://www.robynsonlineworld.com/2011/12/balsamic-roasted-brussels-sprouts/

Leave a Reply

