The Adventures Continue…

My deepest apologies. It feels like a decade has passed since I last blogged.  Life happened, but today, I wanted to take time to update you on more of my 37 Adventures For My 37th Year of Life!

Adventure #10 – Serving at the Compassion Table for Matthew West and Mercy Me Concert

April 14 075

April 14 190

One of my greatest passions is the non-profit organization called Compassion International.  Not only do I sponsor two beautiful girls from Rwanda, but I am also a Child Advocate and have the privilege of working at Compassion tables at local Christian concerts. The purpose is to “use my  gifts and influence to raise awareness of the needs of impoverished children and encourage others to respond to the biblical mandate to love the poor.”   This we do, not because we have to, but because we know God has asked us to take care of those less fortunate,  and furthermore, we know first hand what a blessing being a sponsor is!  Both concerts were AMAZING, hundreds of children have been sponsored, and I am having the time of my life serving in this capacity! FYI: I continue to feel God moving me to sponsor yet another child through Compassion, but in light of the next adventure, I want to be sure I am being financially responsible, because once I commit, I am committing to sponsoring these children for their lifetime, not just a few years.

Adventure #11 – Car Shopping

IMG_1959

Well, I never intended to have this as one of my adventures, but God certainly has a sense of humor.  About a month ago, I was in a car accident. By the grace of God I was not injured severely, but my car was nearly totaled, and while the insurance went back and forth about whether or not to “total” my car out, I decided to be proactive and start looking for another one.  In the mean time, and I mean, MEAN TIME, my insurance provided me with a brand new 2014 Hyundai Elantra to drive around for sixteen days.  Nice move!!!  I mean, do the car dealerships give the car rental places some sort of incentives? “Hey, this chick just got in a wreck so be sure to give her the newest version of the car she presently has.” (wink, wink – Insert snide laugh here.)   Well, I fell in love with the rental and specifically the Desert Bronze variety while shopping around.  I have  since decided to keep my “green machine” (also a Hyundai Elantra) for a bit longer, as they did not total it. But I still covet this beautiful car (see above).  My car shopping experience was one that I wouldn’t recommend a person participate in on a regular basis.  The games, hoops, and sometimes ridiculous conversations you have to go through caused me great anxiety.  On a positive note, I believe when I am finally ready to sign on the dotted line,  I will know exactly what to do and not to do to get the best deal.  But holding true to my values, I wish to follow Dave Ramsey’s tips for purchasing a car…so cash it will need to be when the time comes.  Check out the video below for Dave Ramsey’s Tips!  This video is a wealth of information. No car note for this chick-a-dee!

Adventure #12 – Lupus Walk for Team Sandy

April 14 106

In April I joined a group of friends and participated in the “Walk to End Lupus Now” in honor of my friend Sandy.  We organized “Team Sandy” and enjoyed a beautiful day in God’s creation, walking for a great cause!  Please continue to pray for Sandy and the hundreds of thousands of others who struggle daily with this debilitating disease.

Adventure #13 – Road Trip!

IMG_2086

I never take a road trip with little to no preparation, but upon receiving my car back after a 16-day hiatus , I decided to test out the fine work done on my car, and drove to College Station and back for a former student’s wedding! It was a beautiful outdoor ceremony and fabulous reception.  On the way to the wedding I was stoked to stop at Buccee’s, which if you are unfamiliar,  is an exceptionally clean and obnoxiously big gas station the size of Texas. Think mall-size, here.  It is an incredible place and while I have stopped here many times on youth trips, I am unable to slowly peruse the shelves and look at every single item deciding whether I need it or not, because I am working.  Finally, this road trip allowed me to take my dear old time and enjoy the Buccee’s experience!  I really wish I could have been a fly on the wall in “that” brainstorming session when someone spoke up and said, “I have this idea.  We are going to create a gas station the size of a mall. We will have a mascot, a beaver, and people will love him. They will even buy bumper stickers and nightgowns with his face on it.  Yeah! If we build it they will come.”  Ummmm, yeah right! Well, the naysayers can squawk all they want because Buccee’s is HUGE and thousands go there, including me.  Ahhhh, I can hardly wait to go back again!  I definitely see another road trip in my future!

Adventure #14 – Biggest Loser 5K

635351640787682570

I ran my fastest time for this 5K race – 31.42!!  To say I was excited is an understatement.  If you have been following my blog at all, you might remember that I had originally signed up to run my first Biggest Loser Half Marathon, but due to a five month illness, I was unable to do so. Rather than completely bowing out of the race, I chose to run the 5K instead. I am so glad I did! I also got to meet Dan, Jackie, Vinny and Bobby, former Biggest Loser Contestants. I was star struck and paraded around like a giddy, twelve year old school girl, but I didn’t care!  They have each been an inspiration to me while watching the show, and I was gushing!

635351640592997005

IMG_2063

IMG_2073

Adventure #15 – Vegetarian “Meatless” Salisbury Steak

May 2014 002I know what you are thinking.  Disgusting, right?  Wrong?  While on my latest 21-Day Standard Process Cleanse, I was inspired to try different foods and while searching for recipes to make with lentils, I came upon this gem!

YUMMO!

I would highly recommend going out of your comfort zone and trying different recipes. I would have never, ever tried this before, but I did, and I liked it! A LOT!

Stay tuned to my blog for more updates on my 37 adventures for my 37th year of life!

Leave a Reply

