With God All Things Are Possible…

One thing I cannot deny about myself is that I easily freak out about things.  There is just something deep inside me that prevents  me from having peace and serenity in the midst of a storm and I so wish it weren’t true.   I worry, fret, agonize, cry, overthink, stew and basically torment myself with concern on a regular basis.  Maybe you can relate?

A few years back I chose to sponsor a child, through Compassion International.

cropped-comp.gif

Up until that time I never believed that I could actually afford to sponsor a child, and I struggled to take the plunge and do so. However, in February of 2009  my faith took action and I trusted that God would provide. Not only would I sponsor Mukademari for a year or two. I promised to sponsor her and love her for her whole life. No excuses. Now fast forward to 2012, I was living in the same one bedroom apartment that I had lived in for twelve years, and was finally considering making a move to a bigger home, but I also felt God calling me to sponsor another child.  This, of course, meant I would pay considerably more for rent and be committed to sponsoring not only one child, but two.   I agonized over how I would be able to afford to move into a new house and still financially support both Mukademari and Uwineza.

mukademariuwineza

But God was about to show me his undeniable power and control!

In April of 2012 I moved into a beautiful and spacious town home which I adore.  In June of 2012, only two months later, my car, which literally had zero problems up until that point, blew up on me while traveling from Houston.  It was the middle of the night, I might add.  Just four months after sponsoring Uwineza and just two months after moving into my new townhouse, I had to purchase a new engine for my car.  Over the next six months, the “new” engine would prove to have been a big mistake. I was left stranded over and over again on the highway and the car was in the shop more than it was in my possession. By the time January came, I had already invested the amount of a new car and sadly, I didn’t even have a car that worked.  I decided to sell the “money pit” and bought a friend’s car, only to have more problems with that one.  I was exasperated and frustrated beyond measure.  Daily, I lamented, “I can’t financially do this.” Yet, in the midst of this turmoil and financial burden, I continued to sponsor both of my girls from Rwanda, Africa, and God continues to provide.  Isn’t it embarrassing that when we take time to reflect on our lives, it is obvious that God has got everything under His control?  Yet, in our sinfulness, we find it just too hard to accept.

This Sunday, May 4,  is Compassion Sunday.  It is also Uwineza’s 8th birthday!

IMG_1589

Compassion Sunday is that one day a year where churches across the world take a Sunday to share the needs of the world’s poorest children.  I know it is not yet Sunday, but I would like for you to prayerfully consider sponsoring a child!  This following video will give you a snapshot of what being a sponsor could mean for the life of just one child.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/83763449″>Compassion Sunday 2014 – Long</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/compassionintl”>Compassion International</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

I cannot describe to you in words what a blessing it is to sponsor Mukademari and Uwineza.  I am praying for God to move your heart.  Maybe you feel His presence but are trying to convince yourself it is just not possible.  I’ve totally been there.  “There is no way I could afford to sponsor a child?”  If you have ever said those words, remember this…With God All Things Are Possible!

Ladies and gentlemen, this isn’t just some “cutesy phrase” tattooed to the outer door of a car.  More precisely, this is God’s deep-rooted and unchanging Word, which is found in Matthew 19:26, “Jesus looked at them and said, ‘With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.’  Now it is my personal belief that God speaks to us through His Word, the Bible.  However, I also credit God with the ability, to get our attention and hit us between the eyes, in whatever way he sees fit,  and the other night while I was riding my bike, this was one of those moments !

IMG_2013

With God All Things Are Possible!

 When was the last time you took a moment to take in what “With God All Things Are Possible” means?

Take that moment now, please.

In the midst of zooming from this function to that event, to this game to the grocery store, from the gym, to little Johnny’s soccer practice, from the bank, to your house, from  your other child’s t-ball game to the fast food restaurant, then you suddenly remember you forgot your phone at work and have to start the whole vicious cycle over and over again every single day.  Your stress filled day concludes as you fall war-weary into bed with a migraine the size of Texas.  Yet, even still, a million more thoughts and check lists, fly through your mind, and now you are asking me to consider sponsoring a child?  It is just too much.

What if, instead of trying to count sheep, we would account for God’s incredible promise?

My sister was diagnosed with cancer….With God All Things Are Possible!

My husband died and I have no will to live…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can’t get in to college…With God All Things Are Possible!

My child has an incurable disease and is going to die…With God All Things Are Possible!

My grandfather refuses to believe in Jesus…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can’t have children…With God All Things Are Possible!

My father has a brain tumor…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can’t forgive someone for what they have done…With God All Things Are Possible!

My mom has been gone for three years and I still can’t get over it…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can’t get approved for a loan…With God All Things Are Possible!

My car broke down for the millionth time…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can’t get myself to pray for the President…With God All Things Are Possible!

I’ve been sick and I don’t know what is wrong with me…With God All Things Are Possible!

My child failed the STAAR TEST and has to be held back…With God All Things Are Possible!

I have an addiction…With God All Things Are Possible!

My brother is being sent overseas to fight in a war…With God All Things Are Possible!

My teenage daughter hates me…With God All Things Are Possible!

I am bitter…With God All Things Are Possible!

I don’t think I will ever recover from this natural disaster that destroyed my home…With God All Things Are Possible!

We had to use all of our retirement to help pay off our massive debt…With God All Things Are Possible!

I just can’t get myself to go back to church…With God All Things Are Possible!

I don’t know how I am going to pay the bills next month…With God All Things Are Possible!

I have hatred in my heart…With God All Things Are Possible!

I lost my second job in six months…With God All Things Are Possible!

I can NOT sponsor a child through Compassion International…With God All Things Are Possible!

With God All Things Are Possible!

This is a reality, people, not a dream! With God, all things are possible! Will He heal everyone this side of heaven or instantaneously erase your stupendous debt? Unfortunately, NO.  It IS absolutely possible for God to do those things, however, “yes” isn’t always His final answer.  And while this is painful to stomach, no matter what you are going through God will give you the peace that passes all understanding to get through it, and you can trust that your prayers will be answered…period. Know this also, He answers us in three ways:

1. Yes (It is God’s will!)

2. No (It is not God’s will; He has something even greater in store for you and yours; He will get you through whatever you are going through, no matter how unpleasant.)

3. Not right now (It is not the right time, yet. He is preparing you for His answer.)

So, on this very day, let us join together in prayer, and may we believe, with all of our hearts,that With God All Things Are Possible, because they are!

To learn more about about Compassion International or to consider sponsoring a child click on the photo below…

save

WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!

Leave a Reply

