If You Like to Talk to Tomatoes…

So today marked the first day of my commitment to the  “Standard Process 21-Day Purification Program.”  I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect, but I was anxious about it!  What I didn’t anticipate was the amount of time it took to prepare for this excursion, especially week one, which only allows one to eat vegetables, fruit and a wealth of natural supplements.  First, it took me most of the day yesterday to get the groceries. Why? Well, I was like I was tourist in a foreign country. No, really! I have not been accustomed to frequenting the produce aisles.  I think  I am more familiar with Bob the Tomato and Archibald Asparagus from Veggie Tales, than I am with most of the vegetables I met for the first time yesterday morning.  No sirree, I spend most of my time shopping in the meat, dairy, pasta and bread aisles.  Oh, and lest I forget the regular trips to the frozen food section.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to cook, but fresh vegetables are not something I am hugely familiar with.  This girl is a meat and potatoes gal, and unfortunately, I will have to succumb to eating salad, salad and more salad, with less than desirable dressing, fresh veggies without dip (no dairy products – this Wisconsin girl is weeping bitterly) and fruit smoothies with two scoops of SP Complete (supplements) for the next twenty-one days because in the scheme of things I believe my body needs a serious detox.  I’ve seen the reviews on this program and all of them are great!

So, as I walked through the produce aisle, I found myself captivated by the sheer number of vegetables and fruits to whom I had never been formally introduced.  I burst forth in song, in my head of course,  “If you like to talk to tomatoes (I love tomatoes, though I don’t usually talk to them), If a squash can make you smile (Ummmm, no, not so much). If you like to waltz with potatoes (Yes, I LOVE POTATOES! – Insert sad face here – Grievously, I cannot eat carbohydrates for 21 days, so “no, no” to potatoes.) up and down the produce aisle. Have we got a show for you” (1996-2013, UltimateVeggie.com).

April 14 084

Well the show began that afternoon in my kitchen when I pulled out all that I had purchased (see above) and began to wash and cut the fruit and veggies to be sure I was fully prepared for the week ahead.  Four hours later, including five cuts to my phalanges, I had everything prepped!  In homage to the burial of my old eating habits, I chose this for supper…

April 14 085

After all of the food prep, I couldn’t help myself and ended the day in pizza heaven! By the end of the day, I wouldn’t be consuming any more carbohydrates for at least twenty-one more days.

I woke up in the morning, made my first fruit smoothie (no sugar added) and thankfully downed the natural supplement capsules in record time, with about a gallon of water!!! Swallowing the pills is going to be the most challenging part of this cleanse, hands down.  Unfortunately, I have a very short gag reflex and pills don’t go down easily for me, so in light of the fact that I have to take 32 pills a day for the next six days I would say that was quite an accomplishment.

April 14 081

Lunch time found me ravenous, because I forgot to bring snacks to work with me. I am learning quickly.  By the time I got home to eat, my stomach was growling like a bear, but thank heavens for – LENTIL SOUP!

April 14 089

I forgot to mention that I am allowed to eat 1/2 a cup of lentils or brown rice each day, so I opted to make lentil soup.  Previous to today, I had never had lentils, but the recipe they provided was truly heaven on earth!  The pills and the smoothie followed suit and back to work I went!  I returned home to end this inaugural day with another first, rutabagas!  I fried them up with onions, peppers and garlic and they were delicious.  Upon completion of the rutabagas and another salad, I had to take one more stab at downing the last of the supplements.  As anticipated, it wasn’t happening.  I struggled to get them down and have no other option but to tear open the pills and dump the insides into my shakes. At this point, I would rather eat a cockroach then have to swallow those 192 pills before Saturday, not that I am counting! (wink, wink) Simply put, “You have to pick your battles.”

So day one is in the books!

April 14 086 April 14 087 April 14 088 April 14 090

How do I feel, you might be wondering? I feel a little bit sluggish, but I am full, plus I am 100% committed to following through with this cleanse.  Indeed, it is going to be one of the most grueling undertakings I have set out to accomplish. Remember, I am a food addict. But God’s infallible Word reminds, “And my God will meet ALL your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19)  God will get me through this challenge and those yet to come, that I am certain.  What I am equally confident of, is that no matter how you are being tested, God will provide you with everything you need to get through it.  As promised He will be with you every step of the way! So, go get ’em!

One comment

Leave a Reply

