When was the last time a vacation truly changed you?

When was the last time a vacation truly changed you? 

Hmmmm? Do you know?

As of 4pm this afternoon parents, grandparents, children and teachers alike were purely mad, because spring break had finally commenced! Hundreds already had their bags “packed and ready to go” to the beach, to the lake, to the local fair, or even simpler yet, to the comfort of their living room couch.  

But when was the last time a vacation truly changed you?

Sadly the answer to this valid and invaluable question for me, personally, is NEVER.  Indeed, I have shared in countless mission trips throughout my tenure as a youth minister, each experience moving me in one way or another, and I pray, changing lives. However, I have never been privileged, nor courageous enough to participate in a “personal” mission.  I have always envied those individuals who, like Elizabeth Gilbert in Eat, Pray, Love,  just took off to a foreign country to experience life anew. It has never been possible for me, but that will change in 2015, in view of the fact that, this naive, small town, thirty-something girl will finally be flying across the sea to visit the two beautiful girls, whom I sponsor, from Rwanda, Africa.  I don’t know exactly how, nor do I know the details, but after much prayer and soul-searching, I have come to the conclusion that it is finally time to take a vacation that will renew my spirit! Lord, have mercy! Christ, have mercy! Lord, have mercy!

Aside from crossing the border and traveling a few miles into Mexico, I have never traveled to another country (unless of course you consider the moment I moved to Texas from the frozen tundra, lol. Now that was a trip!). However, in one year and seven months, through Compassion International, I have decided it is time!!!   

I’m going to RWANDA, AFRICA in October 2015!

ToursAndVisits_CountryTrip_270x350_RW

I’m going to Rwanda in 575 days (or so), but who is counting, right?

 “Many children in need wonder if they matter. Poverty tells them that they are nothing.” (compassion.org) Throughout the duration of these next 575 days I will be envisioning that sincere moment in time, when we finally meet face to face!  Our faces will no longer be one dimensional. We will be blessed to touch and hold one another, play games together, meet family, personally express our love, and finally pray.   Ahhhh, to pray!  If you know me, you recognize how much I value physically holding a person’s hand in prayer. The Bible says, “For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them” (Mathew 18:20).  

pray

How powerful it will be to have their precious hands in mine in Christ’s name!  

Please pray for Uwineza and Mukademari, their families and myself as we begin preparing for this life-changing journey!

Uwineza           Mukademari

uwinezamukademari

While I am talking about Compassion International, let me introduce you to Alvaro Chura!

IMG_1786

Alvaro is a precious eight year old little boy from Bolivia, South America.  His birthday is December 28, 2005 and he enjoys playing ball games and running.  He lives with his mother, father, and seven other siblings in Bolivia. His father is sadly not always employed and his mother maintains the home and takes care of her eight children. Yes, indeed.  Alvaro is one of EIGHT CHILDREN in the family!   

As a sponsor of two of my own children through Compassion, I can promise you, becoming a sponsor will be an absolute blessing to you and your family. I never imagined how my life would change, how two little girls across the ocean would transform my existence and give it purpose.  Furthermore, I never imagined that I would be able to financially support not only one, but two children from another country.  Proof that God always provides!

Won’t you please prayerfully consider sponsoring Alvaro?  

He has been waiting for over six months to be sponsored. Your love and support of only $38 a month will help him to receive the assistance he needs to grow and develop.  At the very least won’t you keep him in your prayers?

If you would like to sponsor Alvaro, please contact me by leaving a “comment” with your contact information. Your information will not post publicly because I have to “okay” comments before they post. I will then contact you directly to get the information to “officially” sponsor Alvaro through Compassion International!

Compassion International exists as a Christian child advocacy ministry that releases children from spiritual, economic, social and physical poverty and enables them to become responsible, fulfilled Christian adults” (compassion.com).

If you would like to consider sponsoring a different child, one with your birthday, one with your name, one the same age as your child, etc., please go to the following link to do so: http://www.compassion.com/sponsor_a_child/default.htm?referer=135158

Thank you and God bless!

Leave a Reply

