37 Adventures For My 37th Year of Life!

For the majority of my thirty-six years of life I have waited for happiness to come to me. Unfortunately, I spent many years in my youth having a pity party and making other people around me miserable because “if I wasn’t happy, then no one else should be happy.”  I sincerely apologize to everyone I ever made miserable as a result of my poor attitude. If truth be told, I have all too often deliberated that “I have to wait for my life to start when I get married and have children” because isn’t that when everyone’s life is expected to begin? However, that hasn’t been in God’s plan for me, and as I creep toward the age of forty, I have suddenly realized that I have wasted unconscionable years, months, days, hours and seconds waiting for joy to happen upon me. In fact, I have a painting on my wall that I should honestly take to heart. It says,  “If I am not happy in this time, in this place, then I am not paying attention” (author unknown).  How powerful that statement is.  With that said, I believe there are many people out there who have or have had had tendencies like me.  “Well, God says He will take care of me and bless me, so I am just going to sit right here and just wait for His blessings to just fall right out of the sky…any day now, any day now, NOW, how ’bout now, NOW….oh for Pete’s sake, I GIVE UP.”  Then you hide yourself in your dark, dreary room and enviously scroll through Facebook observing everyone else’s great and amazing adventures.

God promises, “For I know the plans I have for you…plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)  No doubt, right there, our God reminds us that He has a great plan for our life!  However, it doesn’t say anything about us not having a part in that life He has planned for us.  He’s not going to hand us everything on a silver platter.  That is not how life works.  He intended for us to LIVE life.  In Ephesians 2:10, we are reminded that  “we are his (God’s) workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them (ESV)” The emphasis I want to focus on in this verse is “walk in them.”  Our Lord does not say, “go ahead and park your butt in your comfy reclining chair, and I promise I will shower you with unspeakable joy.”  NO, it says that we were created to DO good things, and that means we are responsible to actively DO those good things.  In spiritedly “walking in” those good deeds that God has planned for us to do, we will THEN be blessed.

Not BECAUSE we do those good things, will we be blessed, but BECAUSE in doing them, we ARE blessed!  

In living life fully and doing God’s will, we will experience new relationships and new things, we will see God at work in the lives of many, we will have the opportunity to share Christ’s amazing love, and we will receive countless blessings!  So my challenge for you today, is to join me and get up and experience life…to the full!

Do good!  

Be involved!  

Live life to the fullest being a willing and relentless participant in the life that God has planned and prepared for only you.  

That is my promise to myself in my next year of life, and I assert to experience 37 adventures in my 37th year of life!!! This is many thanks to a long-time college classmate, colleague and friend who was an incredible inspiration!  Like most people she was dreading her fortieth birthday, so rather than experiencing a godawful fortieth year, she was determined to participate in forty great adventures.  What followed was a fabulous fun-filled fortieth year, that created memories for a life-time!  In fact she said it was her best year of life thus far, and in the three years since, she has continued this amazing tradition!  Who wouldn’t want that for themselves?

Why don’t you join me on this journey?

 Beginning, before my birthday, (because why wait) I am embarking on 37 awesome adventures! I encourage you to stay tuned to my blog throughout the year for reflections from these incredible experiences. I won’t reveal all my planned adventures, but here are just a few:

Eat at Royer’s Pie Haven in Austin, Texas 

I LOVE PIE!

Image

Learn to poach an egg

Image

Read 5 books by the end of the year

Image

Don’t complain for an entire day

This will be a challenge!

Image

Visit Shangri La

Image

Stand on the star in the floor of the Texas State Capitol rotunda (Austin), clap my hands to hear the echo, and then look up into the dome and twirl around till I’m dizzy. This three-step tradition at Austin’s statehouse is said to bring good luck!

I plan to take a crack at it!

Image

As I alluded to earlier, my first actual adventure is planned about a month before my 37th Birthday. I have always LOVED to ride the tilt-a-whirl and since becoming an adult, I have believed the misconception that only children ride rides and local festivals. I didn’t want to embarrass myself or others, so I have kept my distance.  However, the tilt-a-whirl is a ride that I love, so there is no reason I shouldn’t get to enjoy it, right?  And so, I have purchased a “Passport to Fun” for our local festival (which will allow me to ride the rides as many times as my little heart desires) and I fully intend to ride the Tilt-a-Whirl 100 times during the duration of Spring Break!  I can not wait!  Do you like to ride the tilt-a-whirl? I invite you to join me, but please note, this girl is a “professional” tilt-a-whirl twirler. It’s a family tradition, and if you ride with me or any member of my family you shall abide by the rule – “thou shalt ALWAYS lean into the turns” so as to spin obnoxiously fast! 🙂

Image

Living life to the fullest, that is indeed what I plan to do!  

How about you?

5 comments

Leave a Reply

