Size Doesn’t Matter!

If you have ever struggled with your weight or your self-esteem, then you know the anxiety and angst associated with shopping for clothes.  Due to having no clothes that fit, your only option is to venture out to the stores and get some new ones. Upon arrival, you try to have that “positive self-talk” moment, and just start pulling clothes off the rack. And, may I remind you when you are an “above average woman” in size you do not have the option to pull clothing and go directly to the check out.  Oh no, clothes shopping for us ladies is generally a day-long ordeal that involves dozens of trips to fitting room, and ends in disappointment.  The stack of size 12’s you have soon becomes a mountain and you enter the fitting area, which in my opinion, should be called the “won’t fit at all, but go ahead and huff and puff” room.  Continuing, you finally get the gumption to try on your first outfit.  Keeping your eyes clear of the wall sized mirror, you attempt to zip, and button up, only to discover you look like a Jimmy Dean sausage ball and you have to take all of the clothing back out to the floor and find everything in a size 14.  And as if that weren’t enough, you soon discover you are actually a size 16.  You curl up in the fetal position on the floor of the fitting room, admittedly in a deep depression, and concede that you are indeed the fattest woman on the planet and decide that a date with Blue Bell is your only option.

I cannot tell you how many times this has happened to me, and I know that it happens to you.  But, my question tonight is, why does this happen?  Why do we equate our worth with our size?  Right now, I am a size 14.  Not a 12, not an 8 and certainly I will never be a zero.  “Size does matter,” doesn’t it!  Certainly it does, in the eyes of a woman, and sadly we often equate our worth with our dress size.  I find if funny that it is no longer enough to be number one. Now we have to shoot for double zeros.  My response, “Hey, will double d’s do, cause I got those?”

As you might remember, I have competed in a number of races and each time I receive a t-shirt. Unfortunately, I have never tried on the t-shirt from my most recent race.  When I first pulled it out of the bag, it looked incredibly small and immediately I asked if I could return it for a larger size. Sadly, they weren’t able to. All I could do was cry, because in my mind, the fact that the shirt was too small, meant that I was fat.  I mean, I couldn’t even fit into a large shirt. I always order a size large shirt.

At home, I curiously studied all my race shirts and came to a conclusion. Though every single shirt was a size large, every single shirt made me feel different about myself.  It didn’t matter what size they were, it mattered how they looked on me.  Ding, ding, ding….ladies SIZE DOESN’T MATTER.  Are you a 10, 20, 24, 30 or even a 00?  It doesn’t matter.

Your worth is NOT EVER dependent on your size!

You were made in God’s image. No matter what you look like on the outside or how you perceive yourself, you are still created in God’s image and your Heavenly Father loves you just the way you are. Take a look at what God’s words says about you.

“You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.” Song of Solomon 4:7

“She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her.” Proverbs 3:15

 “But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”1 Samuel 16:7

When was the last time you let those words wash over you?  If you have never heard these precious words before, read them again. Your worth is not dependent on the size of clothing you put on your body!

“And why are you anxious about clothing?” God says in Matthew 6:28.  Yes, indeed, why are we anxious about clothing?  Life is too short to allow a stupid dress size ruin our lives, ladies. Our Lord continues, Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin” (Matthew 6:28).  

Take a look at these pictures.

IMG_1667

Each shirt I am wearing is a size large.  Unfortunately, as you can see, some “looks” are way better than others. Each shirt makes me appear and feel distinct. In fact, most of these shirts I do not wear, and would never wear in public. But for you, I felt I needed to do it.  In fact, the black one I never even tried on until tonight. Be that as it may, one thing remains the same in each photo, ME.

IMG_1668

My physical body didn’t change in the twenty seconds it took for me to swap shirts and by golly my self-worth shouldn’t either.

If you are in need of some words of wisdom, I want to encourage you to read God’s Word.  Verse after verse, cover to cover you will discover how incredibly precious you are!  I heard it once said, “It takes one minute to make someone’s day and one word to destroy someone’s life ” (Author Unknown). How true that statement seems to be? Fortunately, the Bible has hundreds and hundreds of life-changing words, just waiting for you to hear!

Second, pay no attention to the size of your clothes!  Diana Moca from CBS58 News Milwaukee, Wisconsin, writes, “Fashion industry experts say women’s clothing sizes are irrelevant, because they are sometimes determined more by profit than by measurements. That’s why shopping can be fun and exhilarating for some women, while it’s frustrating and depressing for others.” (Moca, WDJT 58, January 18, 2013 ) Well, I am definitely not in the first category.

Girls, size doesn’t matter!  The old adage states, “If the shoe fits, wear it,” and this must be the same advice we take to the fitting rooms! Wear clothes that make you feel fabulous, because you are fabulous!  Don’t wear clothes or get discouraged because they are a specific size.  And above all, know you are you are a treasure!

“The LORD your God has chosen you out of all the peoples on the face of the earth to be his people, his treasured possession.” Deuteronomy 7:6

Last, if we want to talk about things that are BIG, then know this, “our God is greater than all other gods. But who is able to build a temple for him, since the heavens, even the highest heavens, cannot contain him?” 2 Chronicles 2:5b

If you are interested in reading Diana Moca’s entire story, you can go to the following link:

http://www.cbs58.com/news/local-news/Clothing-manufacturers-lowering-sizes-to-increase-profits-187528411.html

Leave a Reply

