Hey, look, a chicken!

adhd

Do you ever just have “random thoughts?”

Admittedly, I do, much to the chagrin of those I work with, but it is totally who I am, and something that will never change. The cartoon above is a fairly accurate representation of how my brain works (at times), and I won’t apologize for it.  It would be as if to ask someone with blue eyes, “um, could you permanently change your eye color?”  “Um, no.” It’s the way God created a blue-eyed person to be. 

Often my family, friends and cohorts will query, “what channel are you on?” Fortunately or unfortunately, having stray thoughts is absolutely a unique part of who God created me to be, and I embrace it!  (Side note: If you want to marvel, just be in my presence amid a “random thought” when my sister is around.  Everyone on earth, including yourself, will be completely dumbfounded, grasping at straws trying to connect the dots, and without hesitation, my identical twin sister will know exactly what I am talking about, and will miraculously finish my thought. It is the coolest thing ever!) 

With that said, I have a deluge of thoughts whirling around in my head tonight, and I just need to spit ’em out!

So here goes:

  • How did all of those people, stuck on the interstate in Atlanta, get from their cars to safety? And how did so many cars get stuck there in the first place? Those poor people must have been freezing and scared.
  • Crap, I missed the State of the Union Address.
  • Why did I eat 1,000 calorie fast food dinner tonight?
  • What is all the hype about the Grammy Awards?
  • My dogs really need hair cuts.
  • Can I really finish a half-marathon?
  • I really love the song “Brown-Eyed Girl.”
  • I wonder how my girls from Rwanda are doing?
  • I think eating fast food actually makes me hungrier 😦
  • I wonder who Juan Pablo will choose in the end?
  • Did you know that carbohydrates are higher in calories than many items that are not?
  • I think my plants are going to die from this cold snap, even the one my mom gave me fifteen years ago, when I began my internship. 😦
  • What a privilege it was to see one of my former youth perform tonight!
  • Am I making a difference?
  • I am not hungry. I am not hungry. I AM NOT HUNGRY. (I am, but…) I am not hungry. I feel like I could eat a 70 0z steak!

A midst all those musings, there is one thing that keeps hovering in my mind:

“God has been truly been good to me!”

As a recovering “Negative Nelly,” this aforementioned statement is usually NOT a part of my vocabulary.  (Re: “Negative Nelly” – You know who I am talking about. You know…your colleague in the cubicle or classroom next to you who NEVER has anything positive to say.  The one you avoid at all costs because, “The sky is always falling”) 

However, tonight as I sat and watched one of my former youth perform, I couldn’t help but thank God for the privilege of being in the ministry.  “God has been truly been good to me!” As with any occupation, you have your ups and downs, but most youth directors do not have the opportunity to see their students grow up. Many move from place to place every three or four years and therefore are disconnected from their previous ministry. Yet, God has allowed me to serve at my church, full time, for the past thirteen and a half years, plus one year of internship. How many youth directors can say they are now teaching a second generation of students in their youth group? Thankfully, I can!

My mission throughout my tenure has been to “plant the seed,” and as I sat there quietly, watching this gifted musician, who is no longer a child, but a grown man, with a family, I wondered if I had done that?  I believe this is a critical question that each of us must answer, no matter what occupation we hold.  

Have I planted the seed of faith?

In God’s word we are reminded that we are only responsible for “planting the seed,” and God will take care of the rest. Thank Heavens, I don’t have that responsibility, but what a honor it is to plant the seed anyway. In fact, it is a command.

I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.”  1 Corinthians 3:6-9

As my former student ended his set, he strolled over to me, embraced me, and took time to visit. He has faith, and I saw it growing right before my tear-filled eyes! My heart was so full!  To God be all the glory!

Tonight I pray that God would give you the courage and strength to go out and “plant those seeds.” Hear his call. Like Moses who wasn’t allowed to enter the Promised Land (Numbers 20:12), we may never be esteemed to witness those seeds of faith actually growing, nevertheless, we must continue to sow the seed!  Our All-Powerful, Almighty God is more than capable of doing amazing work!

Continuing with all things random, I was able to exercise often this week, but my diet was less than desirable, or should I say it WAS desirable, because I ate what I wanted, and not what I should have.  That being said, Sunday I completed a four and a half mile walk. Monday, I walked a mile in the mall and that was great because I usually don’t exercise on Mondays. Tuesday, I ran/walked at the gym for an hour and followed it up with a 27-minute cycling class, and tonight I ran/walked for 45-minutes.  I am officially ready for bed.

“Hey, look, a squirrel!” 

Leave a Reply

