2014 Has Incredible Possibilities!

Today was my day off and not only was I able to sleep in considerably longer than usual, but after lunch I recognized a long-lost, shiny object in the sky and knew I must be outside!! The weather was a gorgeous sixty-seven degrees while I toured my regular bike route! I even managed to work up a sweat, which was heavenly!

temp

There is no doubt that I am a warm weather girl who would much rather sweat buckets, than freeze her tush off in the biting, bitter cold.  I am still in awe of my friend “J” who braves the subzero temperatures to run. (See “It’s the Middle of the Flippin’ Winter” blog posted on January 5.) Thankfully we were blessed with a very pleasant day, which allowed me to enjoy a 11.62 mile ride in one hour, with an average speed of 11.4 mph and a maximum speed of 17.2 mph!  I refrained from pushing myself hard today in order to enjoy the fabulous sunshine, however, I must work seriously on increasing my speed in the coming months. Sadly, I still know very little about bicycling and must study up on shifting gears and riding properly and efficiently.  Until then, I will continue to enjoy the ride! 

Today I also researched a number of upcoming races and signed up for my next Dualthon! It will include a 1 mile run, 13 mile bike and end with a 3.1 mile run!! I am beyond excited for April to arrive!

tejas

I am also strongly considering participating in my first Biggest Loser Half Marathon

loser

Photo borrowed from www.nbc.com

or a Tough Mudder

mudder

Photo borrowed from toughmudder.de

as well as a couple other Dualthons, 5Ks and Bike Races!  

The year 2014 has incredible possibilities, and I am thrilled to see what God has in store! I promise you this is the first time I have ever sat down and made a yearly plan for a healthier me.  It is empowering to be proactive, rather than reactive.  So what are your plans for healthier living in 2014?

Leave a Reply

