Hauled Off to the Curb!

So, I made it through the Holidays without gaining any weight.  That has GOT to be a first!!! I am now down to 179.4 pounds!!!!

IMG_1500

Honestly, I believe the 24-hour stomach bug had a significant hand in my weight loss this week, but I will take it, nevertheless. Regrettably, due to my busy schedule, I have not been able to exercise most of the week, however, I started the New Year off on the right foot, literally, by participating in the “Resolution Run.”

IMG_1514IMG_1518

This free event was a 3.5 mile run put on by the Sea Rim Striders at a beautiful Hike and Bike Trail.  While I was a little slow starting off, I ended up completing the 3.5 miles in 37 minutes and 25 seconds with an average pace per mile of 10 minutes and 37 seconds!!  I can slowly see the seconds beginning to peel off my average pace and that brings me great joy!  I am also beyond excited to return to my regular routine (see “I Thrive With A Routine” blog entry from December 21).  This Holiday chaos has gotten me all crotchety and I want my schedule back.  Insert 2-year old temper tantrum here. I especially long to resume the “no carb/lo carb” diet!  I can’t believe I just said that.  It is astounding to me that “sweet stuff” no longer makes me “happy.”  Now, overdosing on carbs actually makes me uncomfortable, and I have yet to crave the pasta, potatoes and desserts like I once did.  I again recognize HITS AUSTIN and Coach Mark H. Wilson for being instrumental in making this happen!

http://hitsrunning.com/austin-tx/

Clearly the two month hiatus from “most” carbs (in preparation for the dualthon in Austin) was enough to make eating healthy a desired habit!  Now if I can just kick those other awful habits (ie: biting my nails, clearing my throat (obsessively), watching “Reality TV,” and cursing.)  Side note: I really don’t curse like one might fancy – I REALLY DON’T. But I do use the words/phrases: “frickin’/freakin’,” “good Lord,” “crap” and “OMG” entirely too often). These dependencies, among others, just need to be hauled off to the curb!

One comment

Leave a Reply

