I have been busy, busy, busy!

So, the race was three days ago. I have refrained from training for two of those days and have a monster bruise to show for the fabulous fall on my bike on race day.  But the last few days have been extremely busy both personally and professionally. Refraining from training does not mean I have been “resting on my laurels.”  NO, NO! I have been busy, busy, busy. For some reason, I don’t believe God intended for the Advent Season to be so ridiculously busy.  I am interested to know how many nights a week during the month of December each of you has had an event, concert, or Christmas Party?  I anticipate the results would be astounding.

Even though I don’t have my own children, I feel like I have been overwhelmingly busy and can’t help but wonder how a mother or father with children is feeling right about now?  I am praying for all of you, because I imagine you are as exhausted as I am.  In Luke 10:38-42,  we learn about Mary and Martha.  “Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”  mary-heart

In the book Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World,  author Joanna Weaver says, “I wonder if God understands when we’re too busy to attend to His presence in our lives.  Or too tired. Or too embarrassed to admit we’ve done something he would disprove of. Make no mistake. Satan enjoys using our hectic schedules, stressed bodies, and emotional upsets in his efforts to put up barriers to our intimacy with God. That’s why we need to take a close look at any thought, feeling, or activities that diminishes our appetite for intimacy with God.”  I was kind of smacked in the face with this reality this week.  Has anything been the cause of a limited appetite for God? I have been so busy that I haven’t done my lessons for the  Women’t Bible study I attend, and to make matters worse, I have been running (literally) around like a chicken with my head cut off,  not sitting at the foot of Jesus, like Mary did.  I want to be more like Mary the rest of this month.  I want to remember what the season of Advent and Christmas is all about.  It’s about the Savior, Jesus, being born.  Won’t you join me in taking time at the feet of Jesus?  It might mean not going to yet another party, or refraining from shopping for the last of the 100 gifts you “need” to buy, but what will be more rewarding? I think we all know the answer to that question.  With that said, I did take time tonight to walk.  I walked for 35 minutes in the quietness of the night.  It was great listening to music and talking with God.  There were indeed times when I thought “I need to just go home and complete my ridiculously long to do list,” but I stayed the course and walked and talked with God and sung His praises, all as part of the journey to healthy living and spiritual growth.

One comment

Leave a Reply

