Ho-hum.

December 11, 2013

It has been a bad eating day once again.  The stress of the Advent season at work and the strain of being sick have caused me to eat terribly.  Honestly, I didn’t make time to prepare healthy food this week.  One of the biggest discoveries I have made over these past few months is that I am most tempted to eat “bad” food when 1) I am super busy and don’t have time to prepare food  2) It is cold, rainy, and dreary. As of now, I don’t have any healthy (no-carb) “go to” recipes that will warm me up on a cold winter day.  Up until now, I have been eating lots of vegetables and salads, which are great, however, on these nasty cold days, which have been incredibly frequent, the only food I fancy is warm crusty bread and soup or chili, or spaghetti, all of which have carbs. I need to expand my recipe book to include “warm” foods that are no-carb or low-carb. I hate that I have had a relapse this week, of all weeks.  I did, fortunately, get up this morning and go to the gym for a run.  The weather was too cold for me to go outside, so I ran/walked for a half hour on the treadmill, completing 2.41 miles.  And, as instructed by Coach Mark, I worked up a sweat.  It’s kind of funny that since I have been so accustomed to one hour workouts that disappointment actually struck when I was forced to end my run after only a half hour.  I will most definitely continue the hour long workouts after the race.  The routine was perfect for me.  Now, if the weather would just improve so I can train outside and get back to eating healthy.

carbs

Leave a Reply

