I GAINED 3 POUNDS :(

November 30, 2013
Wow, it is almost the end of week 6. This past week was also a bumpy one, in that the weather forced me to do most of my workouts inside the gym, however, yesterday and today, the sun was out, my spirits were up and I was able to be outdoors. I went in to the brick today uncertain. I weighed myself today and I gained 3 pounds. Sad, I know, but I believe it is imperative for me to be completely transparent with you. So there it is – I GAINED THREE POUNDS 😦

IMG_8621

And that is going to happen in life. Our body weight will fluctuate and celebrating with food will cause weight gain. My problem in that past was that a weight gain usually involved sabotage (aka: food binging). “Oh what the H..E…double hockey sticks. I’ll just make a cake and eat it too!” But, instead, I’m back on the no carb diet and back in the saddle…literally. I rode my bike to the track and FINALLY felt good on my bike. I wore two pairs of socks, so I am almost 100% certain that my seat is in the correct position now, and my arch pain was due to my shoes not fitting correctly. I will continue to wear two pairs of socks, and may also look in to an arch insert for my bike shoes. Problem solved. Upon arriving at the track, I could tell I was in a positive place mentally and started running. As I ran each lap my mantra was, “sayonara, three pounds! You’re goin’ DOWN!” By the time I finished my fourth lap, I couldn’t contain myself. What was my pace? “You know you make me wanna (Shout!) Kick my heels up and (Shout!) Throw my hands up and (Shout!) Throw my head back and (Shout!) Come on now (Shout!)!” I ran an 8 minute and 53 second mile!! Astonishing! It took me a few minutes to slow down my breathing, but I transitioned, got on my bike, and completed 4.21 miles in 21 minutes. As I ran my last mile, I just kept praying for less than nine minutes, but I was having some discomfort and difficulty breathing, however, when I finally crossed the threshold, I had finished my second mile in 8:58! This was the first time I completed both mile times in under nine minutes!!! Another reason to, as the song says, “SHOUT! Kick my heels up and (Shout!) Throw my hands up and (Shout!) Throw my head back and (Shout!) Come on now (Shout!)!”

Leave a Reply

