“Say Something, I’m Giving Up on You.”

So I confess that I have been obsessing over the duet “Say Something” by A Great Big World and Christina Aguilera.  Have you heard this song?  You must.  I first heard it on The Voice a few weeks ago, and I can’t stop listening to it.  Something is to be said about a song that has extraordinary harmony and the fact (no pun intended) that it actually “says something” in a remarkably beautiful and unforgettable way.  You can feel the passion and the angst as the song writer’s words reach out and tug your heart strings.  My question to you on this First Sunday in Advent, is has this song ever been your lament to God? “Say something, I’m giving up on you.” Listen to the song again.  Seriously, do it right now.

I know that the writer didn’t write the song with this in mind, but I can’t help but think that we have all had times in our life when this song was our cry.  Maybe it is your song right now?  There are periods in our lives when God seems silent or non-existent, even, which gives us all the more reason to say, God, “I’m giving up on you.” Doesn’t it? Did you realize that the people of Israel went through a period where God was silent for 400 years. The prophet Malachi was the last to hear anything from God until John, the Baptist. God was silent for 400 years before he spoke to them again?  How long has it been since you heard God speak to you?  There are times He is silent, but hear me out: He has never left!  God continues to speak to us daily through His Word (The Bible) and the Sacraments (Communion and Baptism) yet, please know this, even if you don’t “feel” His presence He is there!  Though He was silent for 400 years, our all-powerful, almighty God WAS still there!  Moving on, the lyrics continue, “And I will stumble and fall. I’m still learning to love. Just starting to crawl.” Isn’t that all of us? Well, really that shouldn’t be a question. That IS all of us. We are sinners who stumble and fall and who are learning to love like Jesus’ loves.  We fail miserably. We are sinners who need a Savior, even though we demand that God “say, something,” because “I’m giving up on you.” There are many giving up on God.  The church is dying.  Many people, possibly even you, believe with all that is in you, that God has given up on you.  Maybe you messed up one too many times, your son has just been diagnosed with cancer, you feel lost and afraid, you are completely alone, you want a divorce, you are overcome and can’t take this crap anymore, you buried your child, you haven’t had a job in over a year, you can’t get off the streets, or you did the unthinkable. Is your heart begging God to, “Say something, I’m giving up on you?” If so, I am so, so, sorry.  My heart aches for you.  God sheds tears for you.  If we are honest, we have been there.  Certainly we may not be as deeply wounded as you are, but we have been there. No, more than that, Jesus has been there.  He understands your pain. The Savior came and is coming again for you. “The angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto YOU is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.” (Luke 2:10-11)

Before I finish, I want to say something – God is NOT giving up on you, and He never will.

Jeremiah 31:3, “I have loved you with an everlasting love.”

Mark 10:27, “With man it is impossible, but not with God. For all things are possible with God.”

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  

Isaiah 9:6 He is our, “Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

