Potatoes, Pie and Pedals…

November 29, 2013

I made it to Thanksgiving Day!  I was finally able to eat carbs and allowed myself to savor the creamy potatoes and gravy, savory stuffing, apple pie and chips and dips, none of which have I consumed in three weeks.  The entire feast, which also included turkey and gravy, sweet potatoes and cranberry sauce, was scrumptious!  I more than ever commemorate this day because I didn’t GORGE myself (nor did I want to), as I would have in the past. As soon as I started to feel like a stuffed turkey, I stopped eating.  Previously, I would have had two overflowing plates of turkey, stuffing, potatoes and rolls, not to mention countless appetizers before the meal even began, and still made room for 2-3 pieces of pie. Conversely, I had one plate, with a few extra potatoes and turkey and only one slice of apple pie and felt completely satisfied!  I still ate too much, but it was my reward!  We need to have reward days and now I understand why.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to complete the Turkey Trot as planned , which also meant I didn’t complete the “super brick” I was supposed to run that day (ie: 3.1 mile bike, Turkey Trot Run (3.1 mile), 3.1 mile bike).  To say I was disappointed is an understatement, but sometimes you have to make tough calls for your health, and as difficult as it was, I believe I made the best choice. I felt much better today.  I got on my bike completed 12.7 miles in 1 hour and 1 min and 34 seconds.  My average pace was 12.4 and maximum was 17.4.  I STILL have to make adjustments to my seat and handle bars due to the new shoes. Clearly I am a novice at this, since I still haven’t gotten it right. I am going to go and ask someone in the know to physically watch me ride my bike so I can figure out what is wrong. With that said, I still felt pretty good about the ride.  It was much warmer this afternoon, thank God!

Leave a Reply

