I lost 13 pounds in 13 weeks!!

November 24, 2013
IMG_8733Today, I was a little bummed because I wasn’t able to run with my friend “B.” With the wind chill, it was literally freezing cold with 16mph winds and I simply wasn’t willing to risk getting sick in the process. With that said, I weighed myself this morning and have another victory to celebrate! The day after I completed the 2013 Chicago Triathlon I weighed in at 193 pounds. I was horrified. That was the most I ever remember weighing in my life (though I didn’t weigh myself in high school or college). The number on the scale scared me enough to sign up for a chance to win a free registration to the HITS Austin Dualthon. It was the day I started logging my nutrition intake on the “My Fitness Pal” app on my phone. And it was also the day that I thought would be the same as all the others. In the past, I have set goals. I would write a goal weight down on a big board in my bathroom and even had it flashing on my cellphone. But nothing ever made me change my habits. I would continue to do the same thing, hoping for different results. Miraculously, nothing changed. I was consuming loads more calories than I thought, and wasn’t exercising regularly. But today, I celebrate, and have this awesome graph of my progress to show for it! You can now see that I weigh 180 pounds. I have lost 13 pounds in 13 weeks, with the most weight coming off while on the “no carb” diet and exercise routine. Fabulous! So, back to today. It was my long “run/walk” day, and my only option was to go to the gym. I’ve spent a lot of time there this week. Today I ran 4 miles during my hour long run/walk. I really missed running with “B.” She clearly pushes me, as every time we have run together we have run approximately 5 miles in that hour. But, rather than be a “Negative Nelly,” I’m going to celebrate – and not with food (wink, wink)!

“Insanity is doing the same thing, over and over again, but expecting different results.”― Narcotics Anonymous

Leave a Reply

