Food is fuel, NOT my comforter…

November 22, 2013

Well, today was supposed to be a one hour bike day, however, a cold front came through at just the “wrong” time and I wasn’t able to get out on my bike due to the rain. Instead, I decided to go to the gym and walk for an hour.  I wasn’t really up to running; however, I walked briskly for an hour.  I am not exactly sure how far I walked in that time because the computer flashed the final stats for a mili-second and by the time I looked, the info had disappeared.  This week has again challenged me to refuse to eat carbs, while under pressure.  Yesterday my car overheated and I had to take it in to get repaired.  Today I had to forfeit $800 to drive away with my newly fixed car. This is unfortunate and particularly taxing, because just a year and five months ago, my previous car engine blew up and I had to shell out thousands of dollars to get a new engine put in, after which I still had major issues with it. I became exasperated and sold the stupid thing, choosing to buy a “new to me car.” Fast forward to yesterday and today, and you can see the incredible tension I was experiencing, and frankly, in the past I would have threw everything to the wind and binged on thousands of calories of food as a resolve. Conversely, I believe something is stirring in my soul. Today, rather than overindulging, I got a ride to work, cleaned my office from top to bottom (cabinets, closets, shelves…everything) and by the time I was through, my car was ready to be picked up.  From the auto mechanic, I went directly to the gym. I should have been famished after my workout, but I wasn’t. I prepared a salad, ate several grapes and a piece of string cheese.  WIN!  I am not joking people. I sincerely don’t know who I am anymore or shall I say, who I am becoming.  The only thing I can conclude is that this “no carb” diet has shocked me to the core, and allowed me to discover that food is fuel and not my “comforter.”

Corinthians 1:3-4 “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” IMG_1201 IMG_1202

Leave a Reply

