New bike shoes!

November 14, 2013

IMG_1123

I got my bike shoes this week and had a few things added to my bike to make my rides more efficient!  It was in the 40’s this morning and I had to do some major self-talk to get myself out there in the elements. Yeah, I was super, super stoked to go on my ride today (insert sarcasm here).  That being said, if it had been a beautiful sunshiny day, I am certain I would have rode all afternoon, but it is winter weather here in Southeast Texas, and YES, the Vaseline, once again came in very handy!  This is truly a life-changing tip!

Ultimately, I managed to live through my first bike trip with my new bike shoes that clip in to my new bike pedals.  It was actually rather easy to disconnect my shoes from the pedals, which I was thankful for.  However, I did not have a very successful ride, from my perspective.  I only managed to ride 12.16 miles in the 1 hour and 5 minute ride.  My average pace was 11.2 mph and my maximum was 16.3.  When the experienced riders say “don’t use equipment in a race that you have never used before,” they are not bluffing.  If I had gone ahead and raced, never having used those shoes and pedals before, it would have been a disaster.  I had to stop numerous times during my ride today, to adjust my handlebars, aerobars and my bike seat.  Previously, my shoes sat on a different area of the pedal than they are now, with the new bike shoes. Adjustments needed to be made to ensure that my knees weren’t being injured and of course for my own personal safety. As a result, I wasn’t able to get into any type of rhythm and I didn’t feel like I had gotten in a good workout. Admittedly I was also pretty down in the dumps about the “no carb” diet.  I ate carbs every day since Saturday evening and Coach Mark has asked me to get back on it.  I intend to do just that, though I am still not sure how long I can go without my peanut butter toast in the mornings.  I religiously have two pieces of toast with peanut butter and honey each morning for breakfast and I have really missed out.  I had it this morning as well, but I did go to the grocery store today and purchased some different items, so I have more options.  I HAVE to do this, and sticking with the diet plan has been a challenge this week.

Leave a Reply

