I DID NOT EAT CHIPS AND HOT SAUCE!!

November 21, 2013

IMG_1200

Today was bike day.  I was pretty wiped out from the week and didn’t have an exact plan on when I was going to ride my bike, however, as fate would have it, my car overheated this afternoon and I had to take care of getting that cooled down and to the shop.  With that said, I still managed to get my 1 hour bike in.  I am still having some issues with the new shoes/pedals on my bike.  My arches are really hurting during my ride, and the pain is moving up in to my knees. I’ve read some things online and it says that it might be due to poor arch support in the shoes.  I will talk to Coach Mark about it tomorrow, and hopefully I can get it resolved.  Otherwise, I might just have to resort to using my regular shoes until I can get it figured out. I certainly don’t want to get injured.  I was able to ride 13.10 miles in 1 hour and 2 minutes.  I averaged 12.6 mph and maxed out at 17.4. On another positive note, I managed to go out to eat to a Mexican Restaurant and I DID NOT EAT CHIPS AND HOT SAUCE!!  This is a major miracle, especially considering the stress I had realizing that I have another large chunk of cash coming out of my pocket to pay for the new radiator and thermostat that my car needs replaced.  Please note, if I were forced to eat only one thing for the rest of my life, it would be chips and hot sauce. So tonight was a very big win for me! Now, I know what many of you are thinking; there is no way I could do that?  Well, I never thought so either.  I am discovering how this “no carb” diet is working for me.  I am doing this for now, to get some extra weight off because I need to, to be healthy.  There is no way I am going to go the rest of my life without eating carbs.  I will be introducing carbs back into my diet again.  And honestly, I have had “some” carbs this week, but nothing close to what I would consume before.  This “no carb” challenge is causing me to have fewer cravings for the less healthy foods I used to binge on.  Gratefully, I am finding myself longing for fruit instead of cake, and in regards to chips and hot sauce, I will eat them again.  I must! Until now, it was as if I had convinced myself, “If I can’t be successful at something, then at least I can eat more than the average person.”  I used to actually be proud that I could eat an entire large pizza in one sitting.  That is nonsense!  It is not necessary to feed my emotions with an exorbitant amount of food, moreover, I can still eat “several” of my favorite things and even reward myself with a piece of my most delicious deserts, but I don’t need to eat ten pieces of cake or two baskets of chips, or a whole pizza.

Leave a Reply

