Falling off the Wagon?

November 16, 2013

Today would normally have been my brick day, but due to a day-long mission trip I was unable to do it.  I do have plans, however, to complete it tomorrow. On top of that, I walked for approximately six hours straight today, having had the duty of strolling through streets of the Third Ward in Houston, picking trash up from the sides of the city streets. Thankfully, I am in a much better place than I was earlier this week.  The “no carb” diet is so much more difficult than I could have imagined and it is blatantly obvious that I have a food addiction. Previous to the “no carb diet,” over 50% of my regular diet was carbohydrates.  I can’t believe how many carbs I have been consuming on a regular basis.  With that said, I DID NOT succumb to the temptation to have carbs today, even though everyone else on the mission trip was eating sandwiches with delicious bread, rice krispie treats, granola bars, Doritos, cookies, etc.  I brought my own lunch in a cooler and even when we went out to dinner this evening, I managed to order a salad with chicken breast and it tasted delicious!  The croissant with honey butter just sat there on the table quietly attempting to lure me in, but I did not surrender.  Also, my mid-week binge on carbs was a reminder that there will be those days that we all have meltdowns, and regress.  We are human.  For pity sake, none of us are perfect.  However, after “falling off the wagon” we have a choice.  We can choose to stay on that path to no change, or we can get back after it, forgive ourselves and do something completely different that will transform us.

Leave a Reply

