Emotional Roller coaster.

November 17, 2013

You can feel sore tomorrow or you can feel sorry tomorrow. You CHOOSE! – Unknown

Brick Day was today! I was actually feeling excited about it, especially after going out to eat at a restaurant with friends again, and still being able to “pass on the carbs.”  More little victories!  I rode out to the track this afternoon, and finished my first mile in 8:59.  Seriously!  Under a nine minute mile! The best time I have ever recorded in my adult life was 8:31. Considering I have been reducing my run time by twenty to thirty seconds each week of training, I believe I might be able to break that record before race day! So, back to the brick, after the run, I returned to my bike and completed 4.19 miles in 20 minute and 28 seconds, averaging 12.2 mph and maxing out at 15.6.  I am still getting used to the new bike shoes, but overall I am improving each week!  After the bike, I returned to the track and completed my last mile in 9:07!  This week was an emotional roller coaster trying to manage the “no carb” diet and fitting in my workouts with an abnormal schedule. In truth, I expected my times to be worse than ever, but thankfully, by the grace of God, my hard work is shining through.  And as if things couldn’t get any better, I lost another pound for a total of 3 ½ pounds in just two weeks!  Astounding!  Thanks, Coach Mark for your encouragement this week!

Leave a Reply

