Bring it!

November 8, 2013

Today was a very busy day.  I not only had to fit in my one hour bike, but I had to carve out a moment to mow the grass, which is really takes more like two hours. Thankfully I found time to do both as well as work for a few hours.  This afternoon my body was felt pretty good and with the cooler temperaturs AND a reduction in wind, I ended up riding 13.30 miles in 1 hour and 2 minutes. This is up from last week.  I averaged 12.7 mph and had a max of 15.9.  I can beyond a doubt feel myself getting stronger –mentally, physically, and spiritually.  Winning this contest and having the privilege of running this race has been an absolute life-changing gift! This week’s challenge was to refrain from eating CARBS and that is exactly what I have done.  While my energy level has not been as normal, I have discovered that I don’t really HAVE to eat the potatoes, rice, chips, crackers that I usually have.  I will say, most of all, I grieve the loss of wheat bread. My mornings just aren’t the same without my peanut butter and honey toast.  Now, just to be clear, Coach Mark and I are not advocates of eating a “no carb” diet incessantly.  That would frankly be impossible for me to do. However, he asked me to do it to “shock” my body to see whether it rebels or rises up.  I am eager to weigh myself on Monday to see just how effective it has been. That being said, I still have the brick and long run workouts yet to come. Bring it!

Leave a Reply

