Throwing in the Towel

November 2, 2013

“You can throw in the towel or you can use it to wipe the sweat off your face.” Unknown

Well, instead of “throwing in the towel” today, I DID use it to wipe the sweat off my face, and if you have ever had the privilege of working out with me, you know that I sweat bucket loads and I need an unquestionably large towel. Do you know any of those gals who get all dolled up for a game, track meet or the gym and at the end of it they look precisely the same as when they arrived? Well, that girl is NOT me. In fact, I am sure I sweat more than any other woman or man on the planet. Nevertheless, even with a cooler 70 degree temperature, I got my sweat on and completed the BRICK (1 mile run; 20 minute bike; 1 mile run)! As I referred to earlier, it has been a more challenging week. My legs were feeling tired today, and that made me a bit anxious for the brick. I arrived at the track, parked my bike in the “transition area” and started the run. I finished at a pace of 9:32 per mile! Astounding! I couldn’t believe it. I knew I was pushing myself because I was wiped out when I finished, but that was an 18 second improvement from just a week ago. I was so pumped up I couldn’t even put my helmet on correctly, but I pulled myself together and got on my bike. I rode a different route this time so that I didn’t get stuck at any lights and was off. I completed 3.7 miles in 20 minutes and 23 seconds which was a little slower than my pace from last week. But, with that said, I got off my bike, did a few stretches, and embarked on my final mile. Might I also add by this time there was an head wind that I felt was slowing me down, but I actually finished my last mile in 9:29 – I am NOT kidding! I in fact improved my time again. Clearly something is happening here!!! Thank you, Lord! Maybe you are like me. I don’t usually have moments like this. Normally, I don’t have “little victories” to celebrate. Or, maybe, just maybe, I am now humble enough to recognize and celebrate them. Often, I have had difficulty accepting a compliment or an encouraging word from someone, and definitely, I rarely give props to myself. However, the regimen that Coach Mark has created for me is helping me progress week by week, day by day, and I must “stay the course.” Indeed, I am being refined and I am so thankful! I must continue to celebrate the victories, no matter how minute. Lawana Blackwell once said, “I’ve grown to realize the joy that comes from little victories is preferable to the fun that comes from ease and the pursuit of pleasure.” I concur. Do you?

Leave a Reply

