“Easy Like Sunday Morning” (or NOT)

Sunday, November 03, 2013

Today was an incredibly busy day and to be honest, I really didn’t feel like doing my one hour run/walk. There is a song called “Easy Like Sunday Morning,” and I laugh every time I hear it because Sunday mornings as well as afternoons are honestly some of the busiest times for me and other professional church workers, and they certainly aren’t “easy” in the least. To beat everything, daylight savings time brought the sun down early and aiming to make meals for the week, catch up on work, and complete my one hour run/walk before the sun set…well, it almost didn’t happen. However, as the saying goes, “no matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everybody on the couch, and that is exactly what I did. Even though my legs, body and mind weren’t feeling up to running, I chose to just set out for the track and just walk. I cannot tell you how many times in the past that I promised myself I was going to work out and then when it came to the end of the day, I would just sit at home feeling guilty about it. Tonight’s walk turned out to be extremely pleasing and much needed. It allowed me to clear my mind, refocus and jam out to some fabulous worship tunes. Double bonus: I was able to practice some breathing exercises while singing to help me have better control when I sing. I suppose I should apologize. I’m not exactly positive what the group at the track heard because I was rockin’ my ear buds and couldn’t hear myself, but I ascertain I was proudly belting out every song. In the end, I completed 3.75 miles in 1 hour and 20 seconds.Image

Leave a Reply

