A Watershed Experience

ImageNovember 5, 2013

It was a miracle! Today I got up at 4:50am and met a friend to do my run. I wasn’t sure how this was going to go, but in the end we ran 4 miles in 51 minutes and 22 seconds!!! I can’t believe it. That is a pace of 12:48 per mile. Considering I habitually don’t wake up for another two hours, I would conclude that we had a great run. It was actually a watershed experience, not only referring to the amount I sweated, but also because I realized the value of running WITH someone else!!! God never intended for us to do life alone and it was so wonderful to have a buddy there at my side to support me. Sadly, I am in the routine of doing my workouts at the spur of the moment, so finding a friend who can run or bike with me at the last minute is just not realistic. Thankfully, yesterday, Brandy texted me and said “you wanna run in the am?” “Ummm, no” was my first reaction, because she wanted to run at 5am. Nevertheless, I really loved the idea of running with her and so I said yes. I jumped in with both feet, set my alarm and did it. The time passed by so quickly and before we knew it, we had completed 4 miles. Brandy is training for a half marathon so she needs to get her runs in and I am eager to continue the journey of running together when we can. My next long run day is on Sunday, so I hope it works out to run together again. This morning’s run has proven to be an extremely positive experience. I know I wouldn’t have pushed myself that hard if I went to the track by myself. I am indebted to my friend, Brandy, for asking me to run this morning. She even cooked me and her kiddos breakfast after our run!

 

Leave a Reply

