Challenges and Change…

Image

If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you. – Unknown (post photo) – This is a fabulous piece of wisdom, which I desperately want to believe, because if it isn’t true, then honestly wouldn’t we all want to do away with challenges all together? Challenges, simply put, are difficult, but God never promised that everything in life would be easy. He only promised that He would be with us every step of the way (Isaiah 43:1-3). Thankfully I trust that to be true. I am not walking, or shall I say “running” or “biking,” through this journey alone, however, it certainly has been a “tricky” week. (Pun intended as it is the week of Halloween). Balancing work, family and friend time, personal Bible study, dishes, laundry, paying bills, as well as workouts is not an easy commission. On top of that, I am also a bit sore. Admittedly, I am a creature of habit, so, yesterday’s “change of plans” (ie: having to switch up my hour long bike ride to today, instead of yesterday, because of the torrential downpour) along with a long day and late night, affected me more than I realized and left me tired and unfocused. But, I had to pull myself out of this downturn and just RIDE! As I began to pedal, I decided to refrain from looking at my computer today, but rather, just keep pedaling and pushing myself. Normally, I obsessively verify my stats, shifting from “average mph” to “total miles” to “fastest pace” to “actual time” back to “average mph,” and so on. But I didn’t do that today! Another victory!! I completed 12.22 miles in 1:01:05. That was an average of 12.0mph and a maximum speed of 17.2mph. Not bad for not feeling up to par. I believe I am getting stronger and for that I am truly thankful.

 

Leave a Reply

