Training Continues

Friday, October 25, 2013

Well, I was supposed to swim today, however, I wasn’t able to make arrangements in time to do so, and it is just not warm enough to go and jump in a lake, even with a wetsuit, so I didn’t swim.  (I know, excuses.) But I did mow the grass, which took about an hour and a half.  That was a pretty good trade off, I guess. I am still trying to see if there is a way to arrange to swim, but I simply didn’t have enough time this week to make arrangements.  Tomorrow I have to do a “BRICK.”  If you don’t know what a brick is, it refers to training on two disciplines during the same workout, one after the other with minimal or no interruption in between, just as you would do in a race.  Tomorrow my plan is to run 1 mile, ride bike for 20 minutes and then run another mile!  I am so excited to complete this brick; however, I honestly have never trained doing a “brick” so I am a little nervous. Something tells me I would rather eat a “brick” of cheese, but I will not succumb to this temptation. Actually, I should be proud of myself.  While mowing grass tonight all I could think about was making a delicious, homemade chocolate cake (ahhhhh), but when I got home I had some nuts and fruit instead!  General Robert E. Lee (1807-1870) once said. “You have only always to do what is right. It will become easier by practice, and you enjoy in the midst of your trials the pleasure of an approving conscience.” Score! Better choices makes for a better me!

Leave a Reply

