Runner’s Prayer

Sunday, October 27, 2013

A dear friend of mine always sends me this Runner’s Prayer before every race. I have to say, I can’t repeat it enough – “Lord, we’re in this together so you pick ‘em up and I’ll put ‘em down.” Amen! I imagine this prayer would mean a lot more to a marathon runner at about mile twenty, but regardless, it was my mantra today too. One my goals Mark set for me today was to run/walk for an hour.  The idea is to run for a bit then walk for a bit, then run for a bit and then walk for a bit.  You get the picture!  It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon and while I had intended to be completely focused, I stopped a couple times to help a woman who had lost her dog. She was obviously a bit overwhelmed and upset and since I was running around the neighborhood already, I thought it was only right to be on the lookout for her dog too.  We never did find her dog, but even though this was somewhat of a disruption from my regimen for the day, I thought it was so important to stop and help her.  I ended up completing 3.94 miles in 1 hour and 27 seconds.  My average pace was 15.20.  As I prepare for the coming weeks, I can’t help but be nervous about the time change.  As I said before, I am not really a morning person so many of my workouts are in the afternoon.  However, the time change will bring darker skies earlier, so I am a bit nervous about how I will fit in my workouts each day. Obviously, I will need to get out of bed in the morning and “just do it.”  However, I also anticipate that the workouts will become longer so I will really need to stay motivated and get to bed early.  Maybe with the time change it won’t be so hard to get up in the morning?  I can only hope.Image

Leave a Reply

