Brick Day!

Saturday, October 26, 2013
It is BRICK DAY! As the time drew closer for me to complete the brick my anxiety increased. However, I tried to stay positive and I believe every person needs to have a day like I had today. I went into this brick just hoping to run my miles in under 12 minutes. The last time I did a timed mile run, I completed it in 11 minutes and being that I still wasn’t feeling 100%¸I was just hoping for 12 minute miles. On top of that, I was certain that the last mile would be way slower than my first. Well, I guess I underestimated myself. I ran my first mile of the brick in 9:58 seconds. AMAZING! I couldn’t believe it. I was over the moon excited and hopped on my bike. I felt like I had won the lottery. Really, I was that excited. So, way I chose to ride my bike really wasn’t the best. I had to stop at a few lights, but I completed the bike in 22 minutes and 30 seconds and rode 4.6 miles. Next, I got off the bike and left it in my “make-shift” transition area, stretched for a few minutes and finally took off running the last mile. I was focused. I just prayed that I would run it in less than 12 minutes. Would you believe I actually ran my second mile faster than my first mile? Well, I did! I ran it in 9:50 seconds!!! There was no wiping the smile off the face of this girl. It was truly and incredible day. I highly underestimated my potential and learned something very valuable. Believing in me is something I should do more often. Most days, I am a “Negative Nelly” when it comes to believing and trusting in me. I just don’t ever give myself the benefit of the doubt, but today I proved that I can do anything I set my mind to. I am in a very positive place and am so excited to see how much I will change in the next two months. I never could have imagined that I would have run my miles in that amount of time. I once ran the mile in 8:30 seconds, but that was over a year ago when I was 20 pounds lighter and in the best shape of my life. I guess that should be a goal of mine: to run the mile in less than 8:30 seconds! Mark it in the books. I’m gonna see what I can do about that!Image

 

Leave a Reply

