“Aunt Flo”

Thursday, October 24, 2013

 Well, “Aunt Flo” decided to stop by for a visit again, and when she comes, she always has an attitude, which makes me really, really cantankerous and pretty miserable to be around. And to top it off, I still have to ride my bike with “Aunt Flo” for an hour. Can you say road rage? I advise you to stay far, far away LOL! I am not a happy camper. Yes, today will be a challenge, but I guess I should be thankful I don’t have to swim today. Hallelujah, I feel better! Wait a second (sigh), shoot, I have to swim tomorrow. Dang it, I guess, I’ll worry about that tomorrow.  For now, I just have to get through the one hour bike! I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13 By the way – I’m hungry.

It is 1:30pm and I still haven’t gone on my bike ride.  Thankfully, today is my day off, but I have already been super busy, running errands, cleaning my house, making meals for the week, and I have no option but to fit in this one hour bike ride, so I am about to do just that.  Stay tuned and I will let you know how it goes.Image

So, about 3 minutes in to my ride, I realized that I had forgotten to put my helmet on.  Great! (Insert sarcasm here.) Thanks, “Aunt Flo!” So I turned around and went and got my helmet. Safety first!  (FYI: Remind me to tell you the story about how I almost ran out of transition with my bike helmet on once. Now, that’s a funny story). Today, I rode 13.83 miles today, in 1 hour and 6 minutes.  It was a beautiful 82 degrees with a slight wind.  I averaged 12.4 mph and maxed out at 18.5mpg.  I don’t feel really great, but that’s not a result of the workout.  “Not feeling great” is a direct result of “Aunt Flo’s” presence who I also might add “forced” me to eat a chocolate candy bar and a half of a frozen pizza. I should have thought about this when I was at the store, but the name of the frozen pizza (which shall remain nameless) can be found in cemeteries all across the world – if you know what brand I am talking about (wink, wink).  I used to love them growing up.  Grrrrrrrrr.  Nutrition is going right out the window today. I hate when “Aunt Flo” comes to visit. Ladies, when “Aunt Flo” comes, all I can say, is just hang in there and do it!  We have to. We can’t let her rule our lives and take all the fun away, seriously. On a separate note, thankfully, I have recently been trying new recipes and new foods, but since I was running late today, I bought two frozen delights and I threw one of them in the oven. After further review, frozen pizza really doesn’t taste good at all. In fact I think it made me a little queasy and it is certainly not a good food for training. Seriously, why did I buy two of those “put me in grave” pizzas?  “We can do anything men can do with cramps.” – Unknown.  

Leave a Reply

