My Body is Broke and It Needs Fixin’

As you might have remembered from my previous blogs, I have been struggling with illness. No matter what I do, I can’t seem to shake this sickness, and in the process I have been unable to exercise – for over TWO MONTHS. Furthermore, I have gotten little to no sleep.  I can honestly say that I have even been grieving the loss of exercise. What I wouldn’t do to just go for a jog? My poor running buddy, “B,” must think I deserted her, but this is certainly not the case.  My body has simply been forcing me to refrain. No visions of sugarplums for this girl. Nope, I’ve been dreaming of a sweat-soaked run and a “wind in my hair” bike ride. To boot, I have come to terms with the reality, that due to my frequent illness and a brief knee injury, I must pull myself out of the next two races I signed up for.  The dual-thon in April and my first half-marathon (Biggest Loser) in May will, grievously, not be part of my 37 Adventures in My 37th Year of Life.  Furthermore, two weeks and six weeks, respectively, are not enough time to train and prepare for either of these races.  With that said, I have been encouraged by one of my doctors to change up my usual routine and start taking natural supplements (ie: ProSynbiotic and Total VR-X). I have successfully done so for three weeks, which is a marvel, as I despise taking pills.  The addition of these natural supplements along with a “heaven-sent” cough medicine prescription from the ER doctor, has finally relieved my persistent bark, which was the source of many sleepless nights, and terminated my six-month long Upper Respiratory Infection (URI), finally moving me on the road to recovery!  

Conclusively, I am coming to terms with the fact that my health will not improve if I continue to do the “same thing that I have always done.”  I need to do something divergent, and that is why I have decided to take part in the “Standard Process 21-Day Purification Program.” 

 

Image

This is a detox/body cleanse regimen which “combines a generous menu of whole foods with supplements that support the body’s ability to remove naturally occurring toxins” (2014 Standard Process Inc.). The age-old saying goes, “If its not broke, don’t fix it.” Well, my body is definitely broke, and it needs some serious fixin’. Nothing I have done to “get well” in the last six months has worked, and I continue to fall victim to my “old ways.”  I desperately want to resume running, biking and training for races, and I want to believe that being a player in this program will move me on my way. There is no better season to start, as it is advised to engage only in light exercise while taking part in this program.  I am enlivened about the weeks to come! I know this experience will be grueling and my body will cry out, “stop.”  I am a food addict.  Pain should be expected when taking such drastic measures, but I am completely determined to see this through to the end!  Stay tuned to my blog for updates on my journey.  Any and all prayers would be appreciated!

2 comments

Leave a comment